Football Seasonal Body

drtradecraft
drtradecraft Posts: 25 Member
Back in the late 1980's, I had the privilege of spending some time with Herschel Walker. Long story short, he told me he does push-ups and sit-ups during TV commercials and his words, 'he loves TV'. He said he may do hundreds of each during a sitting. Fast forward to 2013, I began a fun and unique football game watching exercise routine. Well, it was fun according to me. So you know, I am a Texas Tech graduate. I began doing push-ups for every touchdown Texas Tech scored and here is how that looked. When Tech scored their first touchdown, I dropped and did 7 push-ups. When Texas Tech scored their second touchdown, I dropped and did 14 push-ups. If it was a high scoring game, I got in a great workout. Before you underestimate this, here is the formula for total push-ups completed during a game: ((N+1)N/2)7
Example, if Tech scored 35 points, or five touchdowns, ((5+1)5/2)7 or 5+1 = 6 and 6 times 5 = 30 and 30 divided by 2 = 15 and 15 times 7 = 105. So, if Tech scored 35 points, I did 105 pushups. Here are the 'per game' pushups I had to do during the Kliff Kingsbury years. Again, per game.

2013 87 push-ups
2014 63 push-ups
2015 147 push-ups (thanks to Patrick Mahomes)
2016 126 push-ups (Mahomes still throwing TDs)
2017 96 push-ups
2018 99 push-ups

In 2018 Texas Tech beat Lamar 77 to 0. Do the math - that's 462 push-ups. The next week, Tech put 63 points on Houston - that's 315 push-ups. Some game days will be tougher than others. Later in that same year, Tech was shut out and I never got off the couch.

In 2019, because Tech scored a bit infrequently, I added sit-ups using the same formula for every touchdown the opposing team scored. Field goals did not count - sorry kickers.