is it fat loss or water loss

Options
ive lost 26.2lbs (11.9kgs) i'm just wondering if if most of that is fat loss or is all water weight loss how can you tell? i do notice a few changes in how my clothes fit now i'm more slimmer around the waist and clothes are a bit looser but other than that not a big difference should i be noticing a lot more since i've nearly lost 30lbs?

Replies

• tomcustombuilder
    tomcustombuilder Posts: 1,868 Member
    Options
    How long did it take to lose the 26 kg's?
  • mgarrett1985
    mgarrett1985 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    ive been dieting since November 20th 2022
  • Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,355 Member
    Options
    30lbs can make a small difference on a larger body and a bigger difference on a smaller body. 30lbs lost also looks different depending on where it's lost from (small amounts all over the body, or larger amounts in specific areas).
    You don't mention how much you with, or anything about your weight loss (over what period, how much you're eating, whether you changed what you're eating or not, whether you're exercising or not...) so it's hard to answer.
    But it's unlikely to only be water.weight.

Fat loss is determined by your calorie deficit (around 7000 calories per lb of body weight/7700 calories per kg). Other reasons you're losing weight is less food waste in your digestive tract (because of lower food volume) and less water weight (from reduced carbs and/or salt).
  • Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,355 Member
    Options
    I saw the past about the timeline: water weight loss can be large in the short term, at the start of weight loss, but longer term weight loss (over 2 months) is more indicative of significant fat loss alongside the water weight loss.
  • tomcustombuilder
    tomcustombuilder Posts: 1,868 Member
    Options
    ive been dieting since November 20th 2022