FitBit Seems Off

Options
So ive been using MFP for 3 weeks now and have had great results. I set the daily calories to 1900 (1.5 pound/wk, sedentary + 100 cals because i'm not actually sedentary). Lost about 10 pounds since I started and feel great.

I got a FitBit One on Saturday and each of the last 3 days its been adjusting my calories by almost 1000. I changed my MFP daily to 1530 (sedentary, 2 lb/wk) but i'm still being told to eat over 2500 cals/day plus exercise (5x/wk)

Is there any way that's right? Have I just been starving myself the last 3 weeks by underestimating my daily activity?

FitBit has counted ~14k steps and 20 flights of stairs since I began.

Thanks!

Replies

• Minks_esposa
    Options
    I heard the fitbit overestimates steps and activity. I can't answer your question though since I have a bodymedia armband.
  • Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,372 Member
    Options
    Unsynchronize it, seriously. It's just a huge mess. And I'm not sure it works well with MFP and the 'lose 2 lb a week' setting.

Personally, I don't have them synchronized, I just see what my average is with my fitbit after I add some exercise calories (I don't move with bodypump, for example, so it doesn't really register on my fitbit), and eat that minus 20% every day. Just much easier than having to worry about fitbit adding weird random calories every day.
  • lcfairbairn74
    lcfairbairn74 Posts: 412 Member
    Options
    Have you set your Fitbit to the '2 pounds a week loss' setting as well?
  • Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    Options
    It's important to remember that FitBit doesn't measure calorie burn - it makes some guesses based on a very small amount of sensor data, and then calculates a number based on models not unlike those used by MFP or Strava or whatever.

Like MFP, it will need to be calibrated (and recalibrated) for each individual.
  • shadow2soul
    shadow2soul Posts: 7,692 Member
    Options