I binged today.

Options
2»

Replies

• pseudomuffin
    pseudomuffin Posts: 1,058 Member
    Options
    I do not want to offend anyone in regard to eating more than planned and definitely do not want to belittle BED. I wanted to ask for quite a while now on the subject of binging and clarify my perception.
    When I studied an MA in Nutritional Science 30 plus years ago I learned that " binging " means to ingest at least 2000 or more calories in one sitting ( about a two hour time period ) on top of what the normal daily calories are. I also learned that for an eating behavior to be called " binging " it has to occur on a weekly basis usually more than once.
    I also visited several times a OA group with a friend and when they spoke of binging they talked of eating 12 doughnuts, half a gallon of ice cream and a family size pizza in one sitting. My friend would eat a pizza, a big bucket of KFC with mashed potatoes, slaw, gravy and biscuits, a carton of ice cream and if that was not enough she would eat a package of cake mix dry with a spoon with a bottle of Hershey's chocolate syrup or a whole package of instant mashed potatoes. No one in that group ever spoke of binging when they ate just a few hundred calories more or when it only occurred occasionally
    Is the word binging used differently in the US culture ? Has the usage of the word in English changed in general over the last decades ?
    Since I joined MFP I have read a lot about binging in various threads, but no one really binges imo based on what I have learned....needless to say, I am somewhat confused.

Red bean buns are ~220-250 calories each, so if you define a binge as 2000 calories or more, eating 9 buns would definitely fall in that category...