Am I doing the right thing?

My name is Samantha, although I'm brand new to MFP my journey started in May.
I started out as a 5"5' tall 20 year old who found herself at 317 pounds.
Today I weigh 287.5 pounds.

Although I've lost weight I've been questioning what I've been doing since this is the first time I've ever logged my diet and exercise.
According to my plan I should be eating up into 2000 calories or more some days, while I've been eating anything around 1,300 to 1,900 depending on my exercise and I'm always under my calorie goal but I'm not skipping meals or starving myself (God no) by any means. I find myself full and energized and it feels like I'm constantly eating.
The reason why my numbers are so high is partially because I'm so heavy but also because I'm burning from 600-1000 calories a day in my workouts.

I'm pretty sure my settings are set to public in case you want to check it over.

I guess I was just interested in making sure I'm on the right track, I have over 100 pounds to lose and I'm ok with taking it slow, I just want to know I'm know destroying my body in the process.

Any advice or motivation is much appreciated. (especially people who have a lot to lose like me)

Replies

• elis_mama
    elis_mama Posts: 308 Member
    I kind of need to know the same thing!! Feel free to add me.....I'm 5'7, 278 lbs and want/need to lose 100 lbs.
  • mz_grim
    mz_grim Posts: 58 Member
    I have had a quick skim through your diary and it looks good. The only thing I would suggest is watch your salt/sodium intake as this can make you retain water and stop the scales from moving and you have been over on salt quite a bit. Otherwise it looks good :)
  • Isakizza
    Isakizza Posts: 754 Member
    When I first started I was 5'3 and 235 lbs.
    I was losing weight eating between 2000-2200 calories. I would burn an average of 500 on my workouts.

Now that I've lost some weight my calorie intake is between 1600-1700 and still losing.