How on Earth Do You Maintain?!

Hey guys! I'm going to be maintaining in November, working out 3-5x a week to maintain health... but I have no clue what to do physically! There are no sports I (think I) really like to the point where I'd do it very much, and I am a student so I do not have a ton of money to spend nor can I just go do stuff whenever I like. I tend to enjoy ultimate frisbee, running/hiking, biking, parkour, ballet, soccer, horseback riding, and lifting heavy stuff (like moving trees, lifting hay bales), all in moderation. General adventure, running around and climbing type stuff but I very quickly see exercise as a chore. I need a purpose for my exercise, so to speak. I need to feel pain and sweat and a quick heartbeat in order to feel as if my exercise is worthwhile. (I am also very limited in where I can go. I live in the burbs and the nearest facilities to run are 15 mins away.)

I read somewhere where we should focus on establishing habits that lead us to maintain our health. I've got the food part covered for the most part (unless you guys have any tips, that'd be REALLY great!). I'd like to know what your hunger cues feel like? Sometimes I get headachey only but feel satisfied in stomach/throat, other times I'm slightly hungry and rumbly and headachey... and then once I eat my hunger rushes in and I possibly overeat because of my perceived hunger. I drink plenty of water (and only water except cider for the holidays, and plain tea occasionally), that's no issue.

Any suggestions, experiences, etc? Much appreciated!

Replies

• KateK8LoseW8
    KateK8LoseW8 Posts: 824 Member
    Try continuing to count calories for a while after you move to maintenance. After a few months, try going a couple of weeks without and keep track of your weight. If you gain, you need to keep counting. I feel like eventually you will learn to eat at maintenance without thinking too much about it with enough practice.
  • harleygroomer
    harleygroomer Posts: 373 Member