Is 'Light Activity' too generous?

Options
I'll be honest, when I get the chance- I am a couch potato. Lately I have been calculating through MFP at light activity, and I was just hoping I could get an opinion on whether or not I'm doing harm to my goals.

I am a student so I spend a lot of time sitting in lecture during the day, or sitting around doing homework in the evening, but I make sure I stay extremely active on my breaks, doing flights of stairs I do not enter as activity.

I am a mom of two young children so I am doing daily heavy cleaning that I do not enter, and run after my children or walk to and from school with them- all which I do not enter as exercise.

Do these small activities justify the light activity selection? I see a lot of comments on threads about how people are generally wrong to calculate their activity this way-

Replies

• maggie16sweetxoxo
    maggie16sweetxoxo Posts: 314 Member
    Options
    No it's not too generous. As long as you don't add stupid daily stuff as an exercise, you're good.
  • naydene_w
    Options
    I would not count as that is what you already do on a day to day basis. I would not count and get extra calories. I think what you are doing now as a young mom and student, you are adding bits when you can and that is good. Somehwhere down the road you can get free time to do stuff like take walks etc, but this is not that time. Just wondering if there is no time during week you could just go for a walk or something just by self to get extra exercise? It may also be a great mind booster for all the other stuff you do to just get out and do something by self.
  • naydene_w
    Options
    Oh, and beautiful pic of you and baby!
  • Boofuls
    Boofuls Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    It's tricky. I think that sedentary may be a better fit but why don't you leave it as lightly active and change if you don't lose?
  • NoAdditives
    NoAdditives Posts: 4,251 Member
    Options