help with only cardio or should it be more?????

Options
heading to the gym later i cant wait! i havent been since april ....any suggestions in heading back to the gym....im trying to lose body fat n weight by working on cardio only for the moment n want to work on toneing later....should i be doing weight lifting and cardio at the same time????????????? if anyone can help me plz id apperciate it! ( like doing cardio for an hr than doing weight lifting for an hr)

also can i do cardio first than strength training???

Replies

• CMAB
    CMAB Posts: 21
    Options
    From what I understand, it would be better if you did cardio and weight-lifting at the same time. That way you'll be building muscle while losing fat simultaneously, and since muscle raises your metabolism you'd be burning more calories even while at rest. I'm no expert, but I'd recommend the weight-training. I hope this helps! :)
  • MsElphaba
    MsElphaba Posts: 432 Member
    Options
    Try to work in a little strength training. Cardio is great for calorie burn immediately; however, strength training will burn calories after you are done repairing and building muscles. Not to mention, muscles burn more calories than fat.
  • countrymama08
    Options
    I'm sure you will get a lot of opinions on this one.

My free meeting with the trainer when I joined the gym gave me a routine. She has me doing a stretch/warm up then lifting (about 4 machines and then abs) and then cardio for about 20 minutes. I can do cardio on the days that I do not strength train. I do her routine about 3 days a week and just cardio 2 days.