when is a plateau really a plateau

dammitpatrice
dammitpatrice Posts: 4 Member
edited November 2023 in Getting Started
Hi everyone,

I'll start with stats: 5'7 138lbs, trying to lose 8-10 more after losing about 12lbs since May. I've been hovering between 137-140 for about 2 months now. For the most part I eat healthy, but I love dessert at night and will factor this in to my count on days I know I will be having it. At this point, getting under my calories is more of a priority than making sure my fats/proteins/carbs are exactly where they should be. I usually eat within +/- 50 calories what MFP recommends. I'm eating 1490 cal/day and call myself sedentary. I'm a nurse and on days I work, I bump myself up to lightly active- where I get about 1600 calories. On my 'sedentary' days I usually run 3-4 miles and strength train (nothing super heavy, I have 10lb weights at home and I'll do a youtube video) and I eat back those calories burned.

So.. am I plateauing because I'm not eating enough? Eating too much? Is 2 months not really a plateau? Should I go to 1200 calories? Help!

Replies

• dammitpatrice
    dammitpatrice Posts: 4 Member
    Anyone?
  • donthesitate
    donthesitate Posts: 255 Member
    You should calculate your bmr, which is the calories you burn to survive, do not go below this, I went below mine and my weightloss stalled because I was not eating enough. I would call this a stall and not a plateau, from what I have heard plateaus last longer. There is also a tdee calculation on this website which is the total amount you burn in a day with activity and such, you want to be lower than this but higher than your bmr.
  • elainematto
    elainematto Posts: 28 Member