Why do people gain all their weight back?

Options
1235»

Replies

• Kabiti
    Kabiti Posts: 191 Member
    Options
    It required me to fix a separate problem before I could solve this one. I tried to lose weight at least 10 times over 15 years. Most times it was a 10 lb fix that I held on to for about a year. Once it was 25 lbs, I added running (intensely) and gained it all back.

I had a body image issue that I'm fixing now, and the psychological change has catapulted me into 37 lbs loss over 11 weeks. The psyche fix will allow me to maintain and to record on MFP forever (not just for weight loss). I will gain and lose weight, but now I'll be healthy and happy with who I am.
  • Pidgeywendy
    Pidgeywendy Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    Why is it here that many people have gained all their weight back?

This is my first attempt, my goal is getting in slight, I've already worked so hard, why will I want to ruin what i've worked so hard for?

Do some people think dieting is a temporary commitment? It's a lifetime commitment, just keep on doing what you have already done to keep off the weight, you already worked so hard to lose, and you should be fine.

With respect - once you've reached your goal and stayed there for at least a couple of years.....THEN come back with this question. Maybe your tone may have changed.
  • littlemissslim5
    Options
    I think everyone has touched on the right answer. It's really just a pattern. People force themselves into unrealistic diets and then once they have reached a certain weight loss, give up everything and go back to what they know. The key to healthy weight loss is more of a lifestyle shift. As the old adage goes it's a marathon, not a sprint.