Some Advice from a Maintainer

Options
sklebar
sklebar Posts: 117 Member
I have been on myfitnesspal for a year. I retired as a professional athlete about 8 months ago and needed to watch what I eat and figure my diet out as due to injuries, I can't train as heavy as I used to. I was also way more muscly and bulky than I am now. I'm at my best weight, though thinking of putting a kilo or two back on, but I wanted to share this to help others. Okay, here is what I learned from myfitnesspal. I’m not an expert, nor do I think I know everything, but this is what worked for me.

1. If you’re trying to lose weight, replace a lot of starchy carbs (i.e. cereal, bread, rice, potatoes, etc.) with tons of vegetables, even for breakfast. You’ll be fuller for longer and I noticed how amazing my hair and skin are through eating broccoli or spinach every day.
2. Eat whole foods and learn how to cook. Pretty much everything out there, even high-end dining in London (where I live), is full of crap and calories. I became a bit more daring with my cooking and found how much less calories I ate, how much less sugar is in my food and that I could eat more through cooking. Practice makes perfect, so even if you feel you don’t have time, once you perfect something, it takes half the time to make it than the first time.
3. Don’t be too strict or too hard on yourself. I need some form of sweets each week. I found myself liking Belvita breakfast biscuits with little chocolate bits in them. They are 235 per pack, so I have it on my days at the gym as a treat that is within my calorie limits.