Eating clean and really active - NOT LOSING WEIGHT

Options
Over the summer, I was working a stressful job and put on about 15 pounds in a month.
Ever since, I have been trying to lose the weight, and nothing seems to be working.
I have been eating on average 1300 to 1500 calories every day (closer to 1500 when I work out).
I take intense cardio dance class 4 days a week for an hour and twenty minutes and walk at least a mile every day, since I am a college student. I thought that when I got back to being super active in school, it would come off more easily. I have only fluctuated about 2 pounds, and have stayed hovering around 150 lbs. What should I be doing differently?!

Random notes:
5'4 and was averaging 135 lbs for the past 2 years, until this summer I skipped up to 150 lbs very quickly (I was eating more,less healthy, less active, and very stressed out)
I am vegetarian - get protein from protein powder, tofu, greek yogurt, nuts, and beans.
I eat clean but do give into cravings every now and then.
I eat on average 3 times a day with bigger breakfasts and dinners than lunch.
I am in college, so I drink about 300-400 extra alcohol calories usually two nights a week.

I have read that strength training is what can really make a difference. I am just confused, because I am very active and eat clean about 90% of the time. What can I try?

Replies

• progressnotperfection84
    Options
    I'm thinking that maybe you aren't eating enough to properly fuel your body now that you are way more active. Cutting the alcohol out for a bit might help too. I do minimal cardio and focus primarily on strength training (lifting heavy) and have been getting great results. Take your measurements too. You may not be losing pounds but you could be losing inches. Break up with your scale for awhile and go by the tape measure. Scales are hateful B's anyway.
  • Cindyinpg
    Cindyinpg Posts: 3,902 Member
    Options