2»

Replies

• brower47
    brower47 Posts: 16,356 Member
    A caloric deficit combined with heavy lifting strength training

^This.
  • mel4bee
    mel4bee Posts: 225 Member
    Thanks guys, I did a 30 minutes strength training routine this morning and will continue doing cardio along with that... I already did some circuit training. I have some 5 pounds dumbells at home. Starting with that as I am pretty new to this. Asked for 8 and 10 pounds ones for christmas and a kettle bell.

Will look at the book.
  • Cranquistador
    Cranquistador Posts: 39,744 Member
    A caloric deficit combined with heavy lifting strength training

^This.
    ding ding ding.
  • SarahBeth0625
    SarahBeth0625 Posts: 685 Member
    Thanks guys, I did a 30 minutes strength training routine this morning and will continue doing cardio along with that... I already did some circuit training. I have some 5 pounds dumbells at home. Starting with that as I am pretty new to this. Asked for 8 and 10 pounds ones for christmas and a kettle bell.

Will look at the book.

Awesome! Keep at it! I think you will see that you get results from strength training and if you continue to push yourself (increasing weight as need be), the sky is the limit!
  • FrnkLft
    FrnkLft Posts: 1,821 Member

Will look at the book.

If you're serious about this, buy the book before you buy the dumbbells. Otherwise you're just going to be wasting your time.

For instance, why are you asking for such light weight? I mean 8 lbs? That's less than a backpack for an elementary school kid. I would START your dumbbell set with a 2x15 & 2x20 lbs. dumbbells. That would give you 15, 20, 30, 35, 40 lbs to work with, and you'll actually be DOING work rather than just FEELING like you did something.