Weight training questions

Options
Hits. I am still relatively new to weight training and have a few questions I hope you experienced lifters can help me with :)

1) Can you build strength while eating at a deficit? I ask because I have heard you cannot build muscle while on a deficit but wasn't sure if extra muscle= extra strength. I have been doing it for about 3 months and am just starting to try out the 10lb dumbbells, to me they seem really heavy ( I can get about 5-7 reps done with them depending on which lift I am doing) but I know people on here can lift loads more. How can I increase my strength?

2) I usually get in between 3 and 4 workouts a week, never on consecutive days. My average workout is 10 mins cardio followed by 30 mins of weights then another 10-20 mins of cardio depending on my energy levels. Does this sound ok or could I possibly be over/undertraining?

3) Some people I've heard talk about aching muscles after weight training like its a good thing but others have said the opposite. How do I know if I have got in a decent workout or if I've over done it?

Replies

• ell_v131
    ell_v131 Posts: 349 Member
    Options
    Sorry I don't have an answer for you, but wanna keep watching out for the replies as I have similar questions! Good luck on your journey!!!
  • Yanicka1
    Yanicka1 Posts: 4,564 Member
    Options
    Hits. I am still relatively new to weight training and have a few questions I hope you experienced lifters can help me with :)

1) Can you build strength while eating at a deficit? I ask because I have heard you cannot build muscle while on a deficit but wasn't sure if extra muscle= extra strength. I have been doing it for about 3 months and am just starting to try out the 10lb dumbbells, to me they seem really heavy ( I can get about 5-7 reps done with them depending on which lift I am doing) but I know people on here can lift loads more. How can I increase my strength?