Am I eating enough calories? Please help!

Hey everyone. I've been with MFP for a while but recently started logging again. I'm trying to figure out if MFP's recommended calorie intake for my body is "good". I'm 23, female, 5"2, 130lb. Goal weight is 115lb. I'm moderately active, I go to the gym 2-3 per week but I walk a lot other days. MFP is giving 1470 for net calories. However, other sources all over the Internet are giving me different numbers - anywhere from 1600-1800 calories per day to 2000 calories per day. The Jillian Michaels website is telling me 1150 calories a day (!)..at which point I think I'd starve. On the days when I don't work out, I really struggle to stay under 1470 and often go over (usually starving an hour after dinner). The days that I do workout are easier on my body calorie-wise. So my question is...is 1470 a good calorie intake goal per day? Too low, too high? I've been working out/eating healthy for 2 months now and have not shed a single pound. Before that I was inactive for about a year, but before THAT I worked out regularly and ate fairly healthily.

I just feel kind of lost on this whole journey. Weight has never been a huge issue for me before but as I age I have noticed my body is having a much harder time staying thin. After spending two months in Europe this past summer, I gained most of the excess weight I currently hold and it really hurt my self-esteem. Before, I used to be able to eat whatever I wanted and not gain a pound. Those days are clearly over!

Any knowledgeable advice greatly appreciated! :)

Replies

• Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    They're all guesses. Pick one that feels comfortable, stick with it for 4 weeks, and adjust as appropriate.
  • cafeaulait7
    cafeaulait7 Posts: 2,459 Member
    I'd go with TDEE - a percentage if I were you. In that, you don't eat back your exercise calories because they are built into the formula. You eat the same amount every day, rest or not.