One week in, lost 2 lbs. :)

Options
First, it's actually 2.5, but the site rounds for you...ha! Anyway, I'm going to try the "talking to others helps" theory this time. Quickly, I've been "on a diet" since I was in....um, 8th grade. Jesus, that sounds sad. Anyway, I'm now 41 and like I'm guessing most people here, it's something I've never been able to conquer. I'm a "big" girl, but not so big that people wonder how I walk down the street. My goal is to lose 50-60 lbs.

I KNOW that there's an emotional piece here that I've never dealt with and to that end, will hopefully start therapy in the next couple of weeks. How do I know this? Because in the past as SOON as somebody says, "Wow. You look great. Have you lost weight?" I immediately go eat something and usually gain and extra 5 lbs from my starting weight. That's not messed up at all :)

I'm a business owner that is pretty busy and confident-- except personally. This has effected relationships, hence, why I'm single. At this stage, I'm a member of the "I don't want to be a part of a club that wants me." In other words, if a guy was interested in me at this weight, I would think there was something wrong with him.

Alrighty, I hope to connect with some people on here....I generally shy away from "organized" things: getting together to walk, weight loss meetings, big huge festivals, etc. That is not to say I don't go out...I'm very social. In fact, have to work out now because I'm going out with friends for the rest of the day. But I'm hoping the format of this online thing will be the right fit for me!

And, yes, I will be talking to the therapist about all the crazy crap above :)

Have a great Sunday!

B
p.s. OH! One thing I thought about today: you know how time FLIES as you get older? Well, I realized today that if my goal is 8-10 lbs a month (that's only 2 lbs/week) and I want to lose 50 lbs, that those 5 months will happen really fast! Oh, the beauty of delusion :) Ok, off to the treadmill!

Replies