Weight Training

Options
2»

Replies

• timbrom
    timbrom Posts: 303 Member
    Options
    I started off w/ 5/3/1 as a total beginner. I remember benching 95lbs and being excited when I hit 135. I think you could modify it for a nice beginner split, his newest book has a lot more options in it then the first 2 editions.

I have the 2nd edition - he outlines his full-body setup on page 79.

It's definitely suitable for a beginner as long as they have an idea of their RMs so they can get an accurate(ish) training max to start with. I worry that a total beginner will not have an accurate handle on their RMs in order to establish the correct starting point. Since the whole programme is percentage based, you really do need to start off with the right TM.

Absolutely, I would suggest someone start at 60% of their 1RM, especially if they are untrained.

You can zone in on the 90% he talks about for the standard programme by doing a triple. It's something like 90(ish)% of your 1RM, I think. It's still a bit much for a beginner though. I don't think the connective tissue has been exposed to enough ongoing stress at the beginner stage to handle this kind of thing. Takes tendons and stuff a while to adapt.

I'm not sure how a true beginner would know their 1RM to take a percentage off of though? Unless they worked up to 5-6RM and used that figure for their 1st cycle TM? That would be a conservative enough start, I would think and allow their soft tissue time to adapt before things really got going.

A 1RM for a beginner is unknowable. The simple act of finding your 1RM as a beginner will provide a sufficient training stress to trigger an adaptation that will increase your 1RM. Same would go for proxying a 3RM or 5RM and calculating a 1RM for that, building up to those will, in and of itself, increase your strength, rendering your results useless.
  • dtimedwards
    dtimedwards Posts: 319 Member
    Options
    No need for so much complexity.

Eat what MFP tells you