What are your secrets? Need advice

flattsfan22
flattsfan22 Posts: 86 Member
edited September 21 in Health and Weight Loss
Hello,

I am fairly new to MFP and have been trying to incorporate a healthier lifestyle. I've been at my calorie goal or below it for about 2 weeks now. I have also began to work out consistantly. I'm confused because even though I am accumulating a deficit in calories I'm not losing weight. I've actually gained some.....what gives? I know there are days where I go over my carbs and/or my sugar goals, which is hard for me because I eat a TON of fruit. For those of you who have lost some weight already what advice can you give me to get my weightloss jump started? I've cut out my diet soda, I still have a cup of coffee in the morning. I'm drinking my recommended amount of water.....just frustrated. Please help :)

Amber

Replies

• DeeDeeLHF
    DeeDeeLHF Posts: 2,301 Member
    It sounds like you are doing a lot of things right. Don't be discouraged. Part of the big picture is learning to love yourself and your uniqueness. Everyone's body reacts differently to the "stress" of change. (stress does not need to be bad). So you are treating your body better and respecting it, the creates a new stress for the body. It will adapt and figure it out and when it does you will start to see the changes.

It is hard to see some people jumping out of the bull pen and dropping 10# without blinking...but comparison is the death of contentment. Know that you are doing something wonderful for your body and it will in turn thank you. Some times our bodies are just slower learners.

A few ideas:

Stay hydrated.
    Measure carefully and weigh foods. It is so easy to add a 20-50 calories per meal just by estimating.

Sugar, if it is from the fruit should not be too much of a concern.

Eat foods that are as close to the natural food chain as possible. Stay away from refined things.

Great job on cutting the diet soda. It is poison! You will feel better.