My abs are too weak to even complete a single exercise

Options
I've tried planks, sit ups, crunches, reverse crunches, leg lifts, and ab bicycles. No matter which I do, the pain is so intense that I can barely complete a single rep. My abs are so weak that I can't complete an any of these exercises without putting pressure on my legs or back to support me. How can I possibly build them and get them stronger when I can complete a single ab exercise?

I'm also not overweight, at 5'4 and 53 kg. I'm just unbelievably weak!

Replies

• bella42182
    bella42182 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    I am no doctor, but I would say it depends on the "pain". Is is painful as in it feels like you are being stabbed? Pain like a shooting/numbing type thing? Or painful like it's pressure from straining?

If it's one of the 1st two, I would see a doctor. If it's pressure, I think that is natural. I worked with my friend who could not pull her body up for 2 full sit-ups. I worked with her every day, doing planks (started at 10 seconds for 3 reps 3x a day and increased by 5 seconds each week). We also did other weight exercises like dumbbell/barbell bicep curls (standing), squats with a barbell (resting on the lower neck/upper back), goblet squats, lunges with dumbbells, basically anything that will force you to tighten your core area while performing the movement.

After 4 months of working on this, she can do everything I can do almost! She is doing incline sit ups (3 sets @ 20 reps) with the bench lifted about 24 " off the ground, planks for 1m 30s easy, even rope crunches with 50lbs on it! It takes time, dedication and slow progress. Just keep with it and go slow. The last thing you want to do is hurt yourself.

Check out this site. You can look up all the exercises I mentioned and also on there you can sort exercises by muscle groups (scroll down to "Find Exercises by Body Part"). Within that each exercise will tell you primary group used as well as secondary and tertiary.