Seeking Running Advice..

Options
I'm fairly new at running/jogging and every time I run/jog my shins start to hurt shortly after I've stopped.
I've tried different shoes, different stretches, I tried walking a fair distance before hand, and I've even tried running on grass / dirt and trails rather than the pavement, and nothing seems to work!

I'm not sure if it's a pulled muscle or shin splints? I haven't been able to see my doctor to ask as I'm not in my own country at the moment. I've put off running for a bit and did stretching everyday to strengthen but even that hasn't done anything..

Any suggestions or advice?

Replies

• briannanoelg
    Options
    Shins splints suck. I had them. I took a week off from running (did the elliptical instead) and took calcium vitamins (still do). I also got new shoes for underpronators and that helped as well. I no longer have problems with my shins. Also had to ease my way back into running instead of going full on back into it.
  • Flab2fitfi
    Flab2fitfi Posts: 1,349 Member
    Options
    Ouch. Get plenty of rest and try walking for a few weeks.

I know you said you haver got new shoes but did you get them fitted from a running shop where they watched you run?

Have a look online at exercises that help to strengthen your leg muscles as i found this helped me - i use machines in the gym for this. Foam rollers can also help to ease out some of the smaller niggles.
  • SSAHM
    SSAHM Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    I was getting pains every now and then. I looked into correct form when running and haven't had a problem since.
  • Mellyajc
    Mellyajc Posts: 142 Member
    Options
    How far are you running? It's possible you've started out going too far too soon.

Proper fitting shoes is super important as well..make sure to get a gait analysis. The only time I've gotten shin splints was when a pair of shoes needed replacing (yes, our bodies are sensitive..)