Heavy weights vs more reps

Options

Replies

• ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,136 Member
    Options
    Down. I am 5'11 and was 205 lbs with a decent amount of flab when I started lifting and counting calories. Now I am around 180 lbs with both significant muscle gain and fat loss. It is not just "loss of fat making my muscles show" as many people would say, the increase in arm size proves that. And I am not sure what my bf% is...if I had to estimate I would say maybe around 18%

you lost body fat which exposed the existing muscle that you had….

You may have had some newbie gains from when you first started and those are showing as well…

You can't lose weight and build muscle at the same time, as they are diametrically opposed to one another. Losing weight means you create a negative energy balance; gaining muscle means you have a energy surplus…

Its like trying to say you can drive a car on an empty tank of gas…they are complete opposite..
  • Ms_Hiit
    Ms_Hiit Posts: 488
    Options
    Personally, I find metabolic style workouts (cardio with lighter weights) more fun than heavy lifting. I was pleased with the results I got in my upper body when doing that style of workout but I didn't start seeing the changes I wanted to see in my lower body (glutes and thighs) until I started lifiting heavier weights with lower reps this past year.
  • DamePiglet
    DamePiglet Posts: 3,730 Member
    Options
    of course toning exists! . hah. Doing more reps with less weight, but still enough weight to be challenging, might not pack on a ton of muscle but it'll sure give you some definition!

if you are gaining muscle you are in a calorie surplus.

If you are losing fat you are in a calorie deficit..

its basic math and thermodynamics and all that fun stuff...
    [/quote]

Thank you.

"Toned" generally means somewhere between mushy-jiggly and "cut".
    Mostly, the focus is on the appearance, not the muscle strength.