scared

Options
Hi! Im new to the mfp community, but not a stranger to weight loss! It took me about two years to get to where I am now, from 275 to 183. I cant believe im a size 10 again (im 5'1"). Problem is, I've been at the same weight for over 8 months now despite working out daily and tracking calories (ive used a private mfp account). And I am absolutely petrified to go by this "net calorie" thing. I feel like I have the slowest metabolism in the world, and 1400 calories seems very intimidating. My net calories usually wind up in the negatives. Clearly I am doing something wrong, and just need a little guidance!!

Replies

• nxd10
    nxd10 Posts: 4,570 Member
    Options
    First, you have done REALLY WELL! Congratulations.

Second, have you re-adjusted your MFP settings with your new weight? If you don't, it will give you more calories than you need and your weight loss will stall. It is disappointing that weight loss is rewarded by taking away calories, but that's what you need. Every time I stalled, I put my numbers in again, recalculated, got new, lower calories, and my weight started going down again.

Second, I always use net calories, and as a middle aged woman, I also have a slower than average metabolism. I don't buy the 'up your calories, lose weight' thing I've heard here - I let MFP figure it for me. But I also know that when I eat close to my NET calories I lose consistently. Low nets - and negative ones are really bad - are not healthy.

Third, are you really measuring and reporting accurately? I can add hundreds of calories to a day by logging tiny things like a finger of whipped cream, some mayo or salad dressing, or a measured, not estimate amount of mashed potatoes. If you were really negative on net and accurately logged both your food and exercise, you would either have an unusual metabolic condition requiring a doctor or would be very sick from malnutrition.