Heart disease

Options
NRSPAM
NRSPAM Posts: 961 Member
Hi, I am a cardiac nurse. As a cardiac nurse, I would like to say, that many of our patients are prescribed statins and blood pressure meds, only to return to our unit, months or a few years later, even after angioplasty and stenting of their arteries. This is NOT to say that anyone should not take their meds, but I came across this article. Thought I'd share. Very interesting read.

http://www.tunedbody.com/heart-surgeon-declares-really-causes-heart-illness/

Replies

• linsey0689
    linsey0689 Posts: 753 Member
    Options
    I'm in my last semester of nursing school looks like an interesting read. I bookmarked it for later. Thanks for sharing :)
  • deus3xMachina
    Options
    Seems all the pretty nurses are on the other side of the pond and not on my ward round...
  • willnorton
    willnorton Posts: 995 Member
    Options
    Pam, loved the article...makes so much sense......thanks
  • resistance_freak
    Options
    Pam, you might also want to read a book called "The Cholesterol Myth" it's along the same topic and gives a LOT of interesting evidence to contradict the popular belief that eating fat causes CHD.
  • patols1
    patols1 Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    ok. I am wondering if someone can simplify this for me. what is he saying? my doctor told me to cut down on carbs, exercise and lose weight. he also gave me meds because I had done all of those before(lost 70lbs, kept it off for 4 years then got sick/bedridden and gained 40 back) and it did not lower my cholesterol. My dad has had 3 stints put In his heart and me and the doctor do not want that path for me. all of my sisters and I have high cholesterol(one who is extremely contentious about what she eats and exercises daily). any helpful information would be greatly appreciated. thanks
  • NRSPAM
    Options
    Seems all the pretty nurses are on the other side of the pond and not on my ward round...