Newbie Diabetic from Indy

Options
Hello! I've been using MFP off and on for the last four years now. I've been struggling with weight ever since graduating college and getting married. I was a body builder in college, taking my stacks and lifting five days and running 10 miles a week. Once I graduated and started working a second shift job to get my foot in the door, my healthy lifestyle went to hell. I just found out this week that I've developed Type 2 diabetes...somehow I knew this was coming, but I wasn't really prepared for it at 27 years old.

So here I am. Now equipped with the mentality that I have no choice in the matter. I have to get healthy now. Receiving this news at a younger age might have actually been a god send for me to actually open my eyes.

I'm finally getting together with a primary care physician next week to go over nutrition, medication, etc. I've just recently joined the local YMCA and going to get off to a great start of the year.

Currently at ~ 290lbs and have a goal of ~ 200lbs for starters. I know this is going to be slow and painful, but i'm looking forward to it.

I'll see you guys in the forums!

-Cody

Replies

• mrsirishred
    mrsirishred Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Cody, welcome to MFP. You have come to a great place to guide your efforts. You will find your recovery much easier than you expect if you are faithful in keeping your diary as it helps you be honest.with yourself. And getting back in an exercise routine will absolutely give you a rush that will make everything else in your day even better. Best of luck...you can live drug free and in control!
    Red
  • alyrpal
    alyrpal Posts: 8 Member
    Options