2»

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,868 Member
    Options
    Calorie deficit + cardio + Resistance Training

fixed it...

- Diet for weight control
    - Cardio for cardiovascular fitness...your heart and lungs and overall endurance
    - Resistance training to preserve lean mass, and be strong...and look awesome once you've cut the fat.
  • MRSpivey
    MRSpivey Posts: 270 Member
    Options
    The only way to lose weight is to have a calorie deficit. How you reach it is up to you - with common sense that's it. Sure you have an idea of what an healthy diet is made of?
    http://www.nhs.uk/livewell/loseweight/Pages/Loseweighthome.aspx
    To gain upper body strenght do any resistance training for the upper body. There's a multitude of exercises. Go to your local gym and you can be advised there.
    ^^ This. As a fitness instructor, my opinion is that when you have a fair amount of fat to lose, a combination of strength and cardio works quicker than just strength training alone. Building muscle is very important, muscles are the furnace that burns the fat. But you gotta put in a little fat burning time as well! Your workouts don't have to be marathon cardio sessions at all. That is why higher intensity shorter workouts have become popular... less time + increased metabolism. But build up to these, start slow and reasonable, don't kill yourself then be super sore for a week, never to work out again! Being here on MFP, logging your food daily and being aware of what you eat is HUGE. Good job making the commitment to yourself, it is the very best thing you can do. Smile, keep that head high, you CAN do this! (:

^^^THIS!!!

I have done a total body workout with cardio three days a week (~9-12 hours weekly) and have been adamant about logging and keeping my macros.

34277608.png
  • belanger26
    Options