In serious need of help

Options
Hi there, I was wondering if you all could help me. I've tried losing weight for years but have never been able to.

I have struggled with self esteem my whole life, I've always been curvy. Not fat, just never skinny. Four years ago, I began taking a prescription drug called Seroquel and was never told of it's notorious reputation for weight gain. In the three years I was taking it, I put on 30-40 pounds. I've been off it for a year and I haven't made any progress in losing the weight.

Weight doesn't come off easy for me. It doesn't help that I honestly CANNOT afford healthy food. I am a full time student who can hardly afford tuition and rent, so I am forced to buy the cheapest food possible - canned goods, pasta, ect. I sometimes can't even afford to eat and have to go to food banks, which only give out canned goods.

This depresses me to no end because I feel like I am never going to lose weight. I feel hideous and self conscience. Some days I can't even go outside because I am so ashamed.

I have a gym membership with school, but finding the time is difficult. I'm not trying to make excuses, I know I have to go, but I've never been one to exercise - I hate doing it - so it's hard to just jump right in.

Does anyone have tips for someone like me?

Replies

• RamonaFr
    RamonaFr Posts: 112
    Options
    Do you have access to counseling at your school? I think it would help you to work on your self-image with a psychologist. I spent a year going to a counselor and it helped enormously.

As for weight loss, just go on recording your meals every day. It helps a lot to do that. And I think maybe you should try to take a walk outside in the fresh air and daylight every day. Walk every day as long as you can, even if it's only 12 minutes. Gradually work up to 30 minutes if possible. I can't emphasize enough how important it is to get out in the air and sunshine every day.