Running - treadmill speed work?

Options
I've been running for 6 months now. Love it. Recently I've changed things up a little bit, though. I still do my "routine" of 3 days activity/1 rest day. On my activity days I do 2 runs and 1 bike ride, with 1 run being a speed work on the treadmill at work. I do a 5 min fast walk warm up, then up the pace to a faster pace than I usually run at for 2 min, bump it up faster for 2 more mins, bump it up faster for 5 more mins, bump it up faster for 3 more mins, then back down to the 1st pace for 2 more mins, then fast paced walk for 5 mins (total 24 mins). I aim to do this 2 times per week.

I only have access to the treadmill at work, and the past 2 weeks, I was able to spread it out 1 at the beginning of the week, one @ the end (due to being called in for overtime!). However, this week, I will only be there Wednesday & Thursday. Will it be a problem to do speed work back to back days? Or should I just only do it one time this week? I just worry that if I try to do it by myself, in my mind, without something "pushing" my legs, I won't really do it.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• just_Jennie1
    just_Jennie1 Posts: 1,233
    Options
    I wouldn't do speed work two days in a row. Do it on whatever day you can and then on the other day do a slower recovery run. You'll probably be too tired to do an effective speed day.

I run 4x a week and do speed work only once a week. I usually do a regular run (at a decent pace - 7/7.5), tempo run, speed work, slow/recovery run.
  • eldamiano
    eldamiano Posts: 2,667 Member
    Options
    Best recommendation is to run in the street. Treadmills do some of the leg work for you.
  • just_Jennie1
    Options
    Best recommendation is to run in the street. Treadmills do some of the leg work for you.

She wasn't asking about where she should run rather if she should do two speed work days in a row. Thanks for your input though. :flowerforyou: