gym workout advice - first timer

Options
Hi
I've recently just signed up to the gym, I have had my induction so can use it and know how to work the equipment but I haven't had a plan yet I was told to just get used to the gym and sort a plan in a week or so but I was just wanting a bit of advice on the best machines to start with until I get a proper workout plan - my current goal is to lose weight and tone up (my stomach being my biggest problem area)
I know I can ask the instructor but feel like a bit of an idiot after just having my induction and it's my first time using the gym so all a bit new and scary lol

Thanks

Replies

• JoRocka
    JoRocka Posts: 17,525 Member
    Options
    You only feel like an idiot because you aren't comfortable with what you should be doing.... so make a plan- before you get to the gym- have an idea of what you want to do.

Go when there are less people if that works for you. Take your time don't rush.

know that there is certain gym etiquette- wiping down your machines- asking about rotating in/how many sets you have left- re-racking weights- all important things.

Please please please- do some research on free weights/bar bell training- don't be scared of that section of the gym. The more prepared you are- the less uncomfortable you will feel.

If you have a walk around- have someone a trainer or staff member show you how to adjust the racks and stuff so you are safe. Those can be tricky sometimes- safety rack railing things they function on the same premise- but different manufactures go about it in different ways and if you already don't know- it can be uncomfortable standing there fiddling with equipment.

look up
    New Rules of Lifting for Woman
    Starting Strength
    Strong Lifts
    Strong Curves.

All great programs to get you started with free weight/barbell training. useful things to know.