i dont think my calorie intake is calculated correctly

Options
hello to everyone on MFP , I have just joined today .

I have been exercising for about 6 months now trying to build muscle with an excess in calories .
I have quite a large belly which I would like to lose .

37 years old
male
sedentary all day ( desk job at home )
I do cardio 30 mins 3 times a week
weights for 50 mins 3 times a week

I entered my goals when I joined ( 2lb a week weight loss ) and it said 1300 calories

that can't be right can it ?
it seems very low to me

I currently eat
200g protein
200g carbs
40g fat

1960 calories but I have not lost any weight in about 3 weeks ( just got back into training/diet after xmas )

could anyone please help me and advise me what it is I should be doing ?

thanks for reading

Replies

• rockmama72
    rockmama72 Posts: 815 Member
    Options
    It is calculated correctly, but you get extra for your workouts, especially if you used sedentary for your activity level. I also picked sedentary (work at home desk job) and then I TRY to eat all the calories I get from activity.
  • stevejones3245
    Options
    hi rockmama
    thanks for the reply

still confused here , how many calories a day all together should I be eating ?
  • acogg
    acogg Posts: 1,871 Member
    Options
    MFP is a calculator based on 3500 calories equaling one pound, so if you set it up to lose 2 lbs. a week, it will suggest 1000 calorie per day deficit which will come out to 7000 calories per week and is supposed to be a two pound loss. This isn't exact, but it is approximate. I suggest resetting your goal to something you feel will be sustainable, 1300 calories is not enough in my opinion.
  • michealashton
    Options