Shin Splints...what can I do?

Options
So if anyone with any experience wit shin splints can help me that would be great. A couple of weeks ago I increased the length of my runs (on the treadmill) and I think I have developed shin splints. I am new to running and have no idea what do do. Do I take a break from running or just keep going? Any any advice would help out.

Replies

• msflores75
    Options
    I have the exact same issue and I actually had to stop my treadmill route tonight because of it. I am starting to wonder if it is my shoes and not actually shin splints?!?! Good luck.
  • bribrijean234
    bribrijean234 Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    I have the same problem!!! They're so bad sometimes that I can't even stand up any longer. In for any advice that follows.
  • ashenriver
    ashenriver Posts: 498 Member
    Options
    Take a break, trust me on this, it is not something you can push through, it just gets worse (experience talking)

Some ways to prevent/help them are

strengthen your legs (calves, hamstring, quads etc)
    get proper running shoes
    try compression leggings
    foam rolling
  • marymickaela
    marymickaela Posts: 190 Member
    Options
    I had them pretty bad several months ago and my trainer said to lower the incline on my treadmill to take some of the stress off. It was so bad I could only walk for about 10 min because of the pain. I still feel my shins hurting a little so always try to be aware of how hard I'm pushing.
  • strangeone25
    strangeone25 Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    Thanks for the advice, I am going to try taking a break and just walk but what is foam rolling?
  • mochapygmy
    mochapygmy Posts: 2,123 Member
    Options
    I was told to ice my shins and that did help.