How long before I lose 50 lbs with a 1200 cal diet?

Options
I'm a University student (20 years old, female) and I'm 5 feet and nine inches. I weight around 195 lbs (last time I checked). I don't want to change my diet (I still want to be able to eat pizza, burgers, wings, sushi from time to time when I go out with friends and to have a drink here and there) but I did lower my calorie intake to 1200 cal a day. I'm still eating the same way but I lowered my portions (I had always eaten lots of greens, low-fat products, low-salt etc).

I started two weeks ago. This is my first time trying this out. I was wondering how long it's going to take to go down to 145 lbs while taking into account that I am not counting proteins or carbs (I have very little time as a full-time University student with a full-time job) but just by lowering my calorie intake.

Also, if anyone has tips on food to eat to help lower your weight, that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Replies

• _chiaroscuro
    _chiaroscuro Posts: 1,340 Member
    Options
    Hi!
    You actually don't have to drop down to 1200 calories to lose weight. In fact people will tell you that's too low. I'll be happy to post a link to a calculator to find out a good number to start with, and explain why, if you'd like. Is that something you'd be interested in?

Edit to add: There aren't specific foods which help you lose weight so you don't have to worry about that. It's about creating a calorie deficit. :flowerforyou:
  • arabianhorselover
    arabianhorselover Posts: 1,488 Member
    Options
    There's no way anyone can really tell you that. There are too many variables.
  • Serah87
    Serah87 Posts: 5,481 Member
    Options
    Slow and steady is the way to go. It can take 6 months to a year or more. 1200 calories seems low, I would starve at that.

Read this OP: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1080242-a-guide-to-get-you-started-on-your-path-to-sexypants
  • apercanis
    Options