squat help

Options
Hi and thank you in advance for reading and helping. I've been lifting weights for 2 months. I am using a Hammer Strength squat machine, (some call a V squat machine) for squats because when I do them with a barbell I get lower back pain. I switched to the Smith Machine and same thing. I find myself being able to do more than 100lbs more on the Hammer Strength machine than either of the other two with no back pain. I've been doing some research and cannot find a straight answer. Am I cheating my hams and glutes by using the machine? I'm seeing strength and body shape gains, so it just makes me wonder if I would be seeing better results if I can perfect dumbbell or smith machine squats. Thank you again!

Replies

• jhc7324
    jhc7324 Posts: 200 Member
    Options
    I had some similar issues when I was first starting out as well. Balky lower back, hip flexors, etc. But I kept systematically backing off the weight when I'd get to a problem, fix my form and get back to my progressions. I'm a little over a year into strength training now, and having those form issues slowed my progression , but in the long run I wasn't going to get anywhere unless I figured out that form stuff.

I'm not familiar with that particular machine, but Its a safe bet that using it is cheating "something". If you're really interested in gaining strength, start out with just the bar, and go from there. You can probably progress to the point where you're putting much more weights on the hammer strength machine, but if you don't figure out how to squat properly, you'll be in the same boat as you are now when you eventually decide to move over to a bar.