How did you go about beginning?

Options
Hi, I'm Shae! Recently, I've decided to lose weight. I've never done this before, never even crossed my mind honestly until my boyfriend brought it up (in a nice way, don't think he's rude...) and I figure I might as well, it can only make me healthy after all! But how did you go about beginning a diet? Did you plan or did you just do it? Did you begin with just food changes or did you dive head first? Did you worry about nutrients or just the calories?

I'm just trying to be the best I can be, so I'd appreciate the feedback!

Replies

• DoctahJenn
    DoctahJenn Posts: 616 Member
    Options
    I found it easiest to start by just logging everything I ate in a day. It helped me see where my calories were coming from and decide where I was willing to change my habits. Once I had my meals figured out, I decided to keep it simple by only giving myself treats on days I exercised. It was an easy way to motivate me, and I could decide if I preferred being lazy or having a cookie. ;) No stress, no huge changes, and best of all, no depriving myself of the things I loved so I could stick with it.
  • shaylynk
    shaylynk Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    I started by just continuing eating what you would, but logging them. You will quickly see where the problem lies and it helps to shape your subconscious decisions about eating. When you see a commercial for a quarter pounder you will not think "OMG I WANT ONE", you will think "That's 600 calories I could enjoy throughout the day!" Seeing as it's equivalent to about half of my calorie goal it's just logic now. Those cravings seem idiotic and you slowly find better foods that you actually enjoy eating.

After changing the way you look at food, it becomes simple. Say you want some BBQ ribs for supper and you don't care about the calories, you know you can just adjust your intake by doing some exercises.