Kind of hit a plateau - help please?

Options
I have been doing great up until about a week ago. I feel like I have hit a real plateau with my weight loss. I have been running between 4 and 6 times every week for three/four weeks, eating under the calorie goal and yet the past week nothing, nada. If anything I bounce up and down from day to day.

My diary is wide open. I could also use any advice or tips you have about getting healthier and fitter. When shoud I eat and exercise? What kinds of food will help the most? I am at a normal BMI at the moment but am looking to get stronger.

Thank you all so much for your help in advance. I have never tried to lose weight before and going it alone is a bit hard.

Cheers!

Replies

• trainmanup
    trainmanup Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    You probably need to be eating more on the days you run. It looks like you're burning an extra ~500 calories running, but aren't eating the calories back. That means if you're normally eating 1400 calories, run (+500 calories) and don't eat, you're netting 900 calories. That's not enough.

All of that aside, 1 week isn't really a long enough time span to start panicking over a pause in weight loss.
  • fast_eddie_72
    fast_eddie_72 Posts: 719 Member
    Options
    It's pretty common to have a week where you don't lose anything. I wouldn't worry about it. If it keeps up for a few weeks, you need to adjust your calories down a little.
    You probably need to be eating more on the days you run.

Eating more will not result in more weight loss.
  • fast_eddie_72
    fast_eddie_72 Posts: 719 Member
    Options
    It's also more difficult to lose weight if you're already at a healthy weight. Why do you think you want to lose more? Losing weight won't make you stronger.
  • editorgrrl
    editorgrrl Posts: 7,060 Member
    Options
  • daybehavior
    daybehavior Posts: 1,319 Member
    Options