Calories and exercise

Options
I'm really struggling understanding the calories I use whilst exercising, my daily cal is 1410 and today with walking and swimming I've burned 1480 calories do I need to eat those additional calories as well as my 1410 to lose weight I've lost 10 lbs in 4 weeks it's just not coming off like I thought it would pls help

Replies

• claudialane18
    Options
    Hi!
    I'm just starting out as well and had the same question!
    If you daily calorie intake is to be 1410 - then you keep on track with that. Don't eat extra to replace calories you've burned extra. The idea is to burn more calories then you eat everyday.
    I might be wrong - (as I said I 'm just learning myself) but that is the way I understand it.
  • helentvy
    helentvy Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Hi, thanks for replying, that's what I've always thought but when reading up on weight loss I've read that you need to eat what you've burned so totally confused lol
  • brandi712
    brandi712 Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    I eat back a percentage of my exercise calories. You will lose weight since you are still eating at a deficit.
  • diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    I'm really struggling understanding the calories I use whilst exercising, my daily cal is 1410 and today with walking and swimming I've burned 1480 calories do I need to eat those additional calories as well as my 1410 to lose weight I've lost 10 lbs in 4 weeks it's just not coming off like I thought it would pls help

Alright, a few things that I'm going to address here.

1. You say you've lost 10 pounds in 4 weeks. This is more than the 2 pounds per week that's generally considered a healthy threshold for weight loss. It's not unusual to lose more than that at the beginning of a program, but the weight is coming off at the pace it should be. It sounds like you really don't need to accelerate it.