Confused...

Options
I have been doing MFP for almost 3 months and the weight is not coming off like I thought it would? I have only lost 6 pounds and I work out 4-5 times a week with 3 days of cardio and then 1-2 days of cross fit type training. The only thing I really notice is that I am not as pudgy in the middle so my guess is that I am toning a little but the weight isn't coming off. I eat less than 2000 calories a day even if I do work out and then I also drink a ton of water.

One thing that I am wondering is that I do have PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) and I am wondering if anyone else has trouble with this? do I need to intensify my workouts? I run 3 miles when I do cardio or do the bike... any ideas?

Replies

• bekahlou75
    bekahlou75 Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    It's hard to tell what you need. Open your diary and we can see how you've been eating. Do you weigh your food? You lost 6 pounds in 3 months? That's about .1/2 pound a week which could be fine. If you are eating at a caloric deficit then you will lose weight.
  • SKME2013
    SKME2013 Posts: 704 Member
    Options
    Have you calculated your BMR and TDEE? (You can find free calculators online)

To lose weight you need to eat under your TDEE, but above your BMR.

Personally, I believe dieting controls weight and exercise fitness. So if you think you can lose weight by working out and perhaps eating back your exercise calories, then I believe this will be tricky.

I am doing the 5:2 fasting and have lost 8kg in 12 weeks.
    Stef.
  • harrellap
    harrellap Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    okay I unlocked my activity! hopefully you can shed some light ;)

My TDEE is 2686 - 20% = 2148 and my BMR is 1738 but MFP says to eat 1640 caloris?? now really confused?
  • thevoice1973
    thevoice1973 Posts: 55 Member
    Options