Feeling down after biking

Options
I biked for twenty minutes today... and almost died. I remember when i used to be able to bike for an hour straight and still feel like i could go for another hour. Just kind of discouraged me. Any one else encounter the same problem?

Replies

• kristinlough
    kristinlough Posts: 828 Member
    Options
    Me!! But my husband bikes all the time. So I know you can do it :smile:
  • jheller
    jheller Posts: 194
    Options
    Oh, yeah, I'm there with you sister. In my twenties my husband and I use to do regular 20-30 mile rides along San Francisco Bay. I started riding again this past spring and couldn't believe how HARD it was. I figured it had to be because we now live in CO at 5100 feet and it was the altitude. Not! It was the fat and being out of shape.

I still have that old mountain bike and after switching out to skinny tires with no tread I can almost keep up with him on his new rode bike. Its getting easier after 9 months of constant physical activity and losing 34lbs. The 10 mile loop I did in 60 minutes I can now do in 45 and I plan to start adding mileage to my rides. I'm up to 14 - hope to get up to 20 before winter sets in.

Keep at it -it'll all come back!!
  • Robrowald
    Robrowald Posts: 64 Member
    Options
    Don't get discouraged. It takes time to get back to your former greatness. I used to be able to bike for 50-60 miles before stopping, These days i'm at about 12 miles, but thats up from 5. It's all a matter of perspective.
  • hetookmylastname
    Options
    Hey I was proud of myself for going 5.49 miles in 30 minutes lol :)

just be proud that you can even do 20 minutes and you didn't stop at 15 or 10 when you really started to feel it :) next time push it to 21 minutes.
  • KarenJean81
    KarenJean81 Posts: 117 Member
    Options