calling all ladies who lift

Options
Hello,

I was once one of those ladies fearful of lifting weights. Well you guys convinced me to try it, and now I need more direction. How much are you eating, lifting, etc. Give me what you got. I've been lifting for about 2 months, up to 30 pound barbell, 40 dumbbells, just tried 50 pound barbell today. Thanks in advance, give me what you got...

lately I've been doing 20 minutes intense cardio, 20 minutes lifting about every other day...

Replies

• 89nunu
    89nunu Posts: 1,082 Member
    Options
    How much you should eat depends on your stats and your goals. Do you want to gain strength / muscle eat in a surplus, do you want to lose fat eat in a moderate deficit.

How much you lift depends on you again. Lift enough to make it difficult, up every time it gets less difficult. Make sure you got good form before you go up in weight.

Have a look at the new rules of lifting for women, starting strength, Jamie eason's life fit for beginners routine and some ideas on how to eat...

I'm not sure whether any of this touches on your questions but I'm unsure I really hot the question...
  • pandorakick
    pandorakick Posts: 901 Member
    Options
    I agree with 89nunu that much about your intake depends on what your goals are. Regarding lifting: what are your goals with that and what program are you currently doing?
  • DiaryOfaThickFitWoman
    DiaryOfaThickFitWoman Posts: 406 Member
    Options
    No programs and I'm trying to lose weight, not gain.
  • Mia_RagazzaTosta
    Mia_RagazzaTosta Posts: 4,885 Member
    Options

Find a beginner lifting program (stronglifts, starting strength, new rules, etc), do it, keep eating at a deficit, and understand that it will take time.
  • dym123
    dym123 Posts: 1,670 Member
    Options