Willpower

Options
Hi All,
I am new to myfitnesspal.com. I have used sparkpeople, truestar and weight watchers but so far I am really liking myfitpal. I hired a personal trainer back in November and all I have seen is weight GAIN. I have about 50 lbs to lose. I have lowered my blood pressure, doubled my bicep strength, increase my flexibility by 2", etc. but I CANNOT overcome my food addiction.

I went from eating fast food every day and whatever I wanted to clean, balanced home made planned meals within my calorie limits. HOWEVER I can't stop a binge day. It over takes my life. All I do every day is think about food. When do I get to eat next, what do I get to eat, how bad I want to eat this and that and everything. It's never enough.

The fitness world was really hard for me the first few months - and even though I have made mountainous changes I am very hard on myself. For the month of February my trainer told me to stop tracking my food and just eat healthy because we figured my cortisol levels were through the roof because ANY extra calorie I was punishing myself for.

Now the nutritionist told me I need to stop eating 4-5 hours before bed. I work very long days so this means I now also bring dinner to work with me. When I go to the gym it's not so bad but ANY time I am in the kitchen I end up snacking. I'm not snacking on "bad things" either, things like fruit, peanut butter, prunes, etc. but I really need to stop.

Any advice on gaining WILL POWER :) and overcoming food addictions?
XXOO

Replies

• Rocbola
    Rocbola Posts: 1,998 Member
    Options
    Some foods will be trigger foods for you. Identify those foods and cut them out of your life, completely, the way an alcoholic cuts alcohol. Not one bite.

People often times don't binge on things like fresh fruit, and salad. Fill your life up with the foods that will nourish you and let you stop when you are full.
  • cloverfield4
    cloverfield4 Posts: 52 Member
    Options