Today I learned that I weigh nearly 400lb

Options
MattyFTM
MattyFTM Posts: 68 Member
I've been using MFP for around two months now, mostly ignoring the community section, but today I feel like sharing. Despite the fact that I have been improving my lifestyle and trying to lose weight, I didn't actually know how heavy I was. I had always estimated that I was around 360-370lb. I knew I was very, very heavy and needed to do something about it. I purchased a set of scales in order to track my progress, but they refused to weigh me. I had suspected it may have been because I was over the 400lb weight limit of the scales, but didn't know for sure.

Today I stepped on them in a hope that it would give me a number, instead of the usual "Err" error message. I looked down and it said 180.9 KG. That's just shy of 399lb. And you know what, I'm pretty happy about that. Firstly, it means I have definitely succeeded in losing weight. I was over 400, I'm now under 400. That's progress. And now I can directly measure my progress going forward. I'm really happy that I can finally weigh myself regularly and properly measure my progress.

I know I've still got a long hill to climb, but I'm ready for it. My current strategy is simply calorie restriction. I'm still eating far too many processed foods, and eating too many unhealthy snacks, but I'm keeping my overall calorie consumption down. I do plan on cutting down on the overly processed, high sodium foods in my diet, but I'm taking everything one step at a time. Trying to do too much in one go is a recipe for failure. I'm making small, sustainable lifestyle changes one step at a time. I'm making progress and I'm absolutely thrilled about that.

If you're in a similar situation, have been in the past, or even if you just want to be generally supportive, feel free to add me as a friend on MFP!!!

Replies

• lucille_heather
    lucille_heather Posts: 650 Member
    Options
    awww well done hun.