treadmill/running outside

Options
Hi all,

I've been running on & off for 18 months or so now, outside only at first as i did not have access to a treadmill but i finally got round to buying one towards the end of last year.

I had a couple of months off running due to injury and then started to slowly started to ease myself back into it in January using my shiny new treadmill as the weather here has been awful.

Anyway to cut a long story short i'm now training for my first half marathon in September (what was i thinking) so i'm increasing the distance of my long runs each week and i'm back running outside where ever possible. I was expecting to really struggle going back on the road as all the posts i've read seem to say that running outside is harder, hilly roads/wind etc and that people tend to be quicker on the treadmill.

However, i'm finding completely the opposite, yes my legs are aching more but my outdoor runs have all been my longer runs so i'd expect that but i seem to be less out of breath (other than going up my favorite hill!!!) Also i'm quicker by around a minute per mile.

I wondered if any of you runners could shed any light on why this might be? Although i've run on & off for a while the furthest i've gone up to now is 10k (6.2mile) so i still count myself as a newbie and i want to be sure im doing everything i can to help me get to my goal of running the full half marathon while minimizing the risk of injuring myself so any tips/insight/advice would be greatly appreciated

Thank

Sarah

Replies

• Jenneffinier
    Jenneffinier Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    Maybe for you the outdoors helps you mentally vs on the deadmill?? I know personally I find it easier to run further and faster on a treadmill but I much prefer my run outside! Wish warmer weather would hurry up though
  • KristiRTT
    KristiRTT Posts: 346 Member
    Options