Help building my routine?

Options
I'm new to this, currently weigh 273, and my goal is 185. After that my goal switches from weight loss to bulking. Anyway have to get there first lol.

My current routine:
Day 1 - Biceps, Lats, Back, Abs, and light cardio.
Day 2 - Triceps, Shoulders, Chest, and light cardio.
Day 3 - Legs, Abs
Day 4 - Rest
Day 5 - Cardio
Repeat

I guess I just want to know if I'm doing this right, and if anyone has any suggestions for improvememt. Keep is mind I'm trying for weight loss, not bulking yet.

Replies

• AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    Lats are part of your back so you don't really have to include them as a separate muscle group. Chest, Triceps, and Shoulders is a lot to try and do on one day. The shoulder muscle (Deltoid) has 3 heads that all need to be worked so there are a lot of exercises involved in shoulder day and you could really make your own day out of shoulders.

What sorts of lifts are you currently doing?
  • musclefat2k
    musclefat2k Posts: 89 Member
    Options
    Muscle makes your body efficiently burn fat. The bigger the muscle, the more energy it requires. Look at adding size by cleaning up your diet and lifting heavy with fewer reps with good form. Give it time, and try not to let the scale be your main motivator for a while. A 100 lbs loss is a massive amount of weight to lose. You will lose it in three ways, muscle, hydration, and fat. You want to keep as much of the muscle as possible the water we dont care about because it will come and go off and on anyway. Just be concerned with making your body efficiently burn the fat and your good to go.
  • JoshD8705
    JoshD8705 Posts: 390 Member
    Options
    I'm using machines lately.

Not exactly sure what each lift is called. Everything is color coded at the gym. I'm out of shape and overweight, so the machines are what I'm using till I see my trainer again in a month.