Premenopause Support

Options
I have been on MFP for 800 days, lost 25-30 pounds my first year. I log everyday and I am at a hard standstill with my weight. I love to exercise, 10 mile race in 2 weeks and my first 1/2 marathon Mid May. I am doing this to keep my activity level up as I just found out I am premenopausal and not very happy about this. Past year I have gained 15 pounds and have not changed what I am doing.

I looking for some friends that are in the same predicament or just plain motivating. I am 46 yrs old, had partial hysterectomy 2 years ago, ( that explains the title of this post) 5'5" and currently fluctuating between 153-156 for over a year. I had a taste of being 140 and I loved it, clothes fit, I could buy anything, now I am just stuffed in my size 8-10's.

I am trying carb cycling( first week) to see if I can break my spell, I just started lifting weights this week to increase my metabo. I have 1 bad habit that I need to break, a drink or 2 in evening but I make sure I work out and have the calories.

Want to be friends feel free to add and tell me a bit about you. I have a great support group now but looking for people in same situation or goal, or just want support.

Replies

• GrepolisSK
    Options
    I'm also 46, perimenopausal and have been putting weight on for 'unknown reasons'. I run regular, attend the gym, have a very active and on the go job. I joined here to try to accurately check my calorie intake and see if I could make any changes or difference by altering my diet in a measured way. Prior to this I have NEVER had to diet in my whole life, I was just naturally slim size 10. I'm now at the upper end of a size 12 and refuse to buy size 14 clothes.

I was recently diagnosed with stage 2 hypertension (genetic) and am now taking medication for this which may affect appetitie, so maybe I've just been eating too much or the wrong kinds of food.

Please keep in touch as we may be able to support each other and maybe find a solution.