Help with activity level

Meganalva
Meganalva Posts: 282 Member
edited September 21 in Health and Weight Loss
I've been on this site for about 1 1/2 months & have struggled with choosing the correct activity level. I'm just not sure if I have the right one selected. I will tell you what a normal day for me is like if you could please give me your opinion. I have had 'lightly active' selected until tonight, I switched it to 'active'.

The weird thing is that I started at this site at 139 lbs, once I lost 7 lbs, I went in to "update your diet & fitness profile' just to browse & see if I wanted to change anything. Well, I didn't, but clicked 'save' anyway....it then dropped my calories for the day to 50 less! Ugh. Is that normal??? I'm confused.

Okay so I work full-time as a cashier in a pharmacy so I do alot of turning, a little light walking to & from to get prescriptions, bending, alot of hand & arm motion & A TON of standing throughout the week. I also have 2 young boys who have me up at 6am starting my day & don't go to bed until 8pm. So I don't sit very much. Would this be considered 'lightly active' or 'active' in your opinion??? Of course, add in the housework & such. haha!

Thank you for your help!!

Replies

• ChubbieTubbie
    ChubbieTubbie Posts: 481 Member
    I'd consider that lightly active. Mostly because it's not work I'd consider 'active' work like construction or something of that sort. As for taking care of kids, I read once that a lot of moms overjudge their activity levels but they're not as active at home as they think they are. I'm not sure I agree with that, but better safe than sorry--I'd rather underestimate my activity level and have less calories per day than overestimate and not have a big enough difference to lose as much weight, if that makes sense.