1st Week And Im Up 1lb

Options
Hi, This is my first time to post to this. I started mfp last monday and I've generally been very good. On 2 days I was over but they were day's that I was out with work and it was only by 100 or so calories. Other day's i didn't even reach the 1200 calories allowed so was under by 200 /300. I've worked out 4 days and I just can't figure out how I've managed to put up 1lb. Its really disheartening :-(

I just don't know what else I can do to lose this weight.

Replies

• walletless
    Options
    Don't worry buddy. It often happens that you initially gain weight before losing it. This is primarily because you are developing muscles while working out, and muscles have more mass than fats.

The good news is, that muscles also burn more calories than fats, so over time, if you keep working out, you will see better payoff.

I need to ask - what kind of workout are you doing? How many minutes total? How many minutes of Cardio? How many minutes of weights? How much stretching?

Another tip - don't spend a day with just 100 calories of intake. I would suggest you atleast to to about 1000 calories a day. Your body needs the energy to burn during workouts.
  • janna674
    janna674 Posts: 410 Member
    Options
    your body may be in starvation mode...you must eat the alotted abount of calories...you dont necessary have to eat the exercise cals but your alotted ones the 1200 you should try to come close to...your body will otherwise start storing fat because its starving...MFP also tells you this when you complete your food diary.. try again this week to eat more and see what happens
  • flynno
    flynno Posts: 3
    Options
    Hi. I am doing bootcamp classes on Monday's & Wednesday which is 35 min of cardio and 15 min of toning Then on Saturday I did a 45 min jog and yesterday I did a trek for 2hours, which was fast walking with some hill climbing.
  • davebarron
    Options