Healthy food on the high street?

Options
As a college student, I'm pretty much always on the go and I'm struggling to keep my diet in check because of it. My college is right in the centre of town so there's many, many options for food ranging from small cafés to big chains like KFC and McDonalds, and there's a cafeteria on campus but unfortunately my budget's pretty small which leaves places like KFC typically my only choice for hot food.

Usually I'd wake up early or have enough time the night before to make a packed lunch for the day, but with exams right round the corner things are far more hectic making it a little difficult to find that same time. I've been getting by with salads and the like from Boots and sometimes hot (well, warm) food from the new Morrison's, only resorting to KFC on Thursdays when I have my longest break between classes, but I'd really appreciate any ideas anyone else might have - food suggestions, tips on some of the healthier items on fast food menus, that kind of thing (:

Replies

• michellemybelll
    michellemybelll Posts: 2,228 Member
    Options
    you must have a dining hall, yes? usually they have all sorts of options - including many with hot food items. lots of different soups; my old dining hall had a sandwich making area that you could tell them what to put on, and have it pressed so it's served warm. and hell, loads of chicken served hot and other meats. the dining hall had a pretty large selection as i recall.

as far as healthy food options at the various fast food places around you - i think you're the best person to figure that out. you know what the specific places near you are - simply google their menus and take a gander yourself. if they don't provide the nutrition content on the company's website, take to google again and search for that item or similar - hell use the food search feature on MFP.
  • Branstin
    Branstin Posts: 2,320 Member
    Options