I need friends!! LOL

Options
Hi, I'm a total newbie to this site thanks to my good friend, but I'd love to become friends with more people who might be able to lend support and/or advice to me! For instance, I'm dying to have someone help me understand what the negative affect of eating more proteins is??? Is it me or are the proteins kinda low?? I must be eating high fiber, high protein, low carb foods! Is that bad??? Oh and this whole exercise program that adds calories to your day because you burned them working out....I feel like that's defeating my purpose. Should I add them or not? I'm so confused.......

Replies

• cardboardboxes
    cardboardboxes Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Great questions!!! Here's what I think I've learned: too much (unused) protein can actually be bad for your kidneys! Of course, not enough will starve the body. The gist of the information is that there needs to be a balance (as with most things). If you are doing a lot of strength training or if your muscles had some sort of (other) trauma, you may need a little more protein in your diet for healing purposes.
    As for the extra calories, I look at them as if they were a treat for working out. LOL! I'm on about a 1200 calorie diet, so when I work out, I look at those calories as "free." If I burn 350 calories by working out, I can eat 350 "free" ones and still be losing weight.... or still be in my 1200 range. Does that make any sense?
    :)
    Good luck!!! I've found this site to be very helpful in keeping me diligent about how much I am eating. I hope it works for you as well!
  • pineappleroo
    pineappleroo Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    The nubers that are on your page already give you a calorie deficit to lose the weight at a safe and healthy pace. Even id you eat the calories burt during excercise without going over you will still be burning more than you are eating.
  • daxa_yen
    daxa_yen Posts: 5 Member
    Options