How To: Calculate Lean Body Mass, see if weightloss is fat

Options
Hey MFP. I've gotten a lot of great advice since joining the forum here a month ago and would like to try to pay it forward a bit. I'd say I'm a novice/beginner level in terms of weight loss and nutrition but I am an experienced geek when it comes to data collection and analysis. I've seen one topic come up repeatedly in the forums about whether or not you are gaining/losing muscle or gaining/losing fat when your weight changes. As it turns out if you take good measurements this is something that anyone can determine for themselves. I thought I'd try my hand at writing a quick guide/tutorial on how to do so. Expert-level types on weight loss and nutrition on this forum please let me know if I say something wrong here and I can correct it with an edit. I'd like to be able to refer to this post in the future since I get asked this a lot.

Okay so here we go. First lets define some terms:

Definitions
Body Fat Percentage (BF%): This is the percent of your bodyweight that comes from fat. If you weigh 100 pounds and are at 25% bodyfat that means that 25 pounds of you is fat.

Lean Body Mass (LBM). This is the weight of everything that comprises you that is not fat. That means muscle, but it also means water, bone, skin, hair, organs etc. When most people talk about changes in lean body mass they are thinking muscle but it is important to keep in mind water is a part of it as well.

So what are you going to need to do this? You need a scale, to measure your weight, and a method of measuring your bodyfat. The easiest most accessible method of bodyfat measurement is going to be a tape measurer or bodyfat calipers which you can buy online for about $15 US. In my examples I use both methods.

Taking your measurements