Am i losing too fast?

Options
Hi!!
I'm a 25 year old female. I started MFP on April 26, a week and a half ago.
My starting weight was 172, and now I'm already down to 166, 6 pounds down.
I've been eating a bit over 1300 net calories a day, and I try to go walking every day as well.
I though that by eating 1300 calories a day I would lose 1.5 pounds a week (at least that's what MFP told me), but I seem to be losing 4 a week...?!
Am I doing something wrong? I don't want to be losing weight at an unhealthy rate.
Maybe right when you start out you lose quickly and then it slows down?
Any advice or experience would be much appreciated!
Thanks!!

Replies

• Emporor_Augustus
    Options
    In my experience weight loss isn't linear... I know a few years back when I cut out pop I dropped 5 pounds in a week. There will be plummets and plateaus, I think. But I'm not an expert.
  • holmjm4
    holmjm4 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    In my experience you usually drop a lot in the first few weeks if you made drastic changes to your lifestyle. Even when I stop my diet for a few months and get back on it the first week is always bigger :) Stick with the plan that MFP is giving you and if you are concerned about your calories go check out some other websites and see what they say you should be taking in. Good luck!
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Initial water weight loss was most of it.

Some was probably from watching sodium better, less retained water there.
    Your body in deficit eating stores less carbs in the muscles. That glycogen stores with water.
    Less water weight.

You will gain that last one back whenever you don't diet or have a bigger than normal carb day or meal.
    But it's good weight, increased metabolism weight, needed weight.
  • jmeister92
    jmeister92 Posts: 5
    Options