400 or 1800 - MFP vs MapMyRide calories gap

Options
I do a lot of biking - it's basically my main cardio - I have been using MapMyRide for a few years now and have it linked to MFP - I just noticed though that the calories burned showing in the app vs what is showing in MFP are not just a little different they are massively different.

For the 13Km ride at about 21Kph average I just got home from MFP shows 432 Calories burned and MMR shows 1836

Considering I live somewhat in the mountains I have always felt MFP might be too low because it looses all the hill climbs (about 170m) - but this count from MMR seems far far too much.

I'm wondering if anyone else has experience with these sorts of gaps and how you handle it? (yes I know a HRM would be best but I don't have the $$ for that at the moment)

Replies

• sc003ro
    sc003ro Posts: 227 Member
    Options
    i would google it.there are a few sites that have calorie calculators...find out at your age and wieght what that ride burns and compare it....or just use that.....
  • omma_to_3
    omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
    Options
    How long was your ride? Maybe 40 minutes based on the distance and speed? I think MFP is far, far closer than MMR. I've found most cycling estimates to be exaggerated compared to my HRM. There are lots of options for coasting while cycling so the amount of time spent actually putting forth effort can be vastly different for two people riding the same route. Given the potential for hills where you are, if you feel you worked harder than what MFP shows, then adjust upwards a bit. But I agree the the MMR numbers are crazy high. Really, true mountain biking (off-road) may burn more than running, but road biking likely wouldn't. With running, the best you can typically get is 10 calories per minute.
  • pawprint_net
    Options
    Tried about 5 different ones online - got 5 different numbers - all below the MMR one and most above the MFP one (gaaaa!)
  • pawprint_net
    Options